Press releases

Schools benefit from prizes and money to the value of R140 000 in the Mpact Recycling Ronnie schools competition

Mpact Recycling has awarded a total of R140 000 in prizes to 34 schools around the country in their Ronnie Recycler Schools Competition prize giving. Nursery, primary and high schools registered with Mpact Recycling in Gauteng, Pretoria, Durban, Richards Bay and Cape Town were given the opportunity to compete.

Schools were required to be registered with Mpact Recycling and to have supplied Mpact Recycling with a minimum of 8000 kgs of paper between the period 2 June 2015 and 2 October 2015.

Each of the seven regions had a prize allocation of R20 000 and the schools collecting the most amount of paper in their area were declared the winners, receiving a prize valued at R10 000, with their green ambassador and green student being awarded R1 000 cash each. The remaining funds were shared between the other top achieving schools according to the amount of paper collected.

“The competition, which was launched this year, aims to encourage learners to be more environmentally aware, and educate them about how important it is to recycle paper,” says John Hunt, Managing Director of Mpact Recycling. “Each year, Mpact collects around 450 000 tonnes of paper for recycling, which also means there is less paper going into landfills.”

The top schools in each area were:

Cape Town

  • Rondebosch United Play Centre
  • Kenridge Primary School
  • Muizenburg Junior School
  • Hoerskool DF Malan
  • Tygerberg High School
  • Habibia Primary


Richards Bay

  • St Catherines High School Empangeni
  • Richards Bay Primary School
  • Kwa Vulindlela Primary School


  • Lynnwood Ridge Primary
  • St Paulus
  • Waterkloof Primary


  • Kloof Senior Primary School
  • Atholl Heights Primary School
  • La Lucia Junior Primary
  • Chelsea Prep. - Chelsea Campus
  • Morningside Primary School
  • Virginia Prep School


  • Laerskool Morewag
  • Summerhill School
  • Creative Academy Pre School and Baby Centre (Pty)
  • Craighall Primary School
  • Orion College
  • Twinkle Little Stars
  • Strubenvale Primary School
  • St Martins Prep School
  • Selcourt Primary School

If you would like your school to become involved in the schools recycling programme you can call the Mpact Recycling toll-free number on 0800 022 112 or visit for more information.